Planning Commission Work Session March 17, 2022

March 17, 2022

Call to Order:  6:00 p.m.

Roll Call:  Nancy Strohschein, Chairman; Bob Janda, Township Board Representative; Jay Loman, Trustee, Joe Bollech, Trustee; Robert Lindert, Trustee; Linnea Barron, Secretary.  Absent:  Dorothy Nankervis, will be resigning from the board.

Pledge:  The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Agenda:  Nancy had sent out an agenda earlier, which we used.  Jay made a motion to accept the agenda, seconded by Joe.

Minutes:  The minutes from the January 17, 2022 work session were reviewed.  Motion made by Bob to accept the minutes, seconded by Nancy.  The minutes from February 24, 2022 work session was reviewed.  Motion made by Jay to accept the minutes, seconded by Robert, motion carried for both minutes.

Old Business/New Business:  At the March 17, 2022 meeting, Nancy agreed to become the new chairman but we did not officially make a motion and approve this.  So Linnea made a motion for Nancy to become the new chairperson, seconded by Jay, motion carried and Nancy was approved.

The work session concentrated on the goals and objectives of the present Master Plan.  Our old master plan had eleven (11) goals.  We went through each one separately and came up with six (6) goals by combining goals or eliminating goals.  The goals we felt represented Arvon Township include:  Natural Resources and Character; Transportation; Recreation; Housing; Public Service, Government and Infrastructure; and Economic Development.  We compared the goals from Marquette County where applicable. 

At our next meeting, we will tackle the objectives.  We reviewed the old objectives and some will be kept and/or combined with others.  We will review the objectives from Marquette County and add new objectives reflecting the comments/suggestions from the public hearing from July 2021.

Next Meeting:  Monday, March 28, 2022, 6:00 p.m. at the fire hall.

Adjournment:  Jay made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Bob.  Meeting adjourned at 7:11 p.m.

Submitted by Linnea Barron, Secretary